Consumed by Spring

mcalpin_overgrowth3

Buried deep in the brush, it’s obvious that this property hasn’t been cared for in many years. The vines creep ever so slowly, the weeds grow taller and tree branches loom a bit lower as if to consume this place completely. In just a few months, the Florida Summer will bring on even more growth and I find myself wondering how much longer this place can fend off its inevitable demise.

mcalpin_overgrowth

mcalpin_wisteria1
As I stood here taking in another incredible building, I had to wonder who last stood here, looked at their home and smiled? I asked myself how many lives started in this home and I had to consider how many might’ve ended here too. As my imagination went running, I almost missed this proud and solitary wisteria bloom, adding some beauty to an otherwise somber scene.

[Suwannee County, FL c. late 1800’s]

mcalpin_overgrowth2

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

